Who I am in Christ

People define me by the way I dress,

People define me by the music I listen to,

People define me by the likes I have (which is none because I don’t have social media),

People define me by how I follow rules and treat authorities,

People define me by the mistakes I make,

They “measure” my worth in earthly units. God doesn’t.

In Christ I am beloved,

In Christ I have a future,

In Christ I am not judged,

In Christ I am redeemed,

In Christ I have a hope,

In Christ I am free,

In Christ I am forgiven,

In Christ I have in identity.


I could go on and on…..

The world can make us start to drown. We find our identity in things. Our passions, families, social status, friends, Instagram followers, talents, significant others, etc. Even if we don’t, others will measure us and try to pull us down.

But, these things fade and ultimately do not fulfill us. We can become depressed feeling like we are worthless or stressed trying to measure up. In Christ, none of these earthly things matter. He does not “measure” us. He tells us we are worthy and loved, no matter what.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,…and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,” -Ephesians 2:4&6

Whenever I am feeling sad about something I don’t think I am good at or worried that others are better than me I reflect on what God calls me. His child. His beloved. Worthy. It takes those feelings away. I like to use this chart because it really puts things in perspective and reminds me I am truly loved:

b491706fdb9ad39392b93126b79bc04d

{via}

In Christ you are a masterpiece! Remember that today♥

†Rebekah

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Allison says:

    This is great, Rebekah! I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately too, and how the only identity that matters is our identity with Christ. Plus, everything else that we define ourselves by – our relationships, outward appearances, etc. – will eventually fade or go away, but God will never change. 🙂

    Like

    1. Rebekah says:

      That is so true! I was hoping someone could relate 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

